Swivel Coupler (Swivel Clamp): Uses, EN 74-1 Load Requirements and Swivel vs Double
What a scaffold swivel coupler does, where it is used, what BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 requires of one, and exactly how it differs from a double coupler.
Published · By Ethan, ScaffoldCoupler.com
A swivel coupler is the scaffold fitting that joins two 48.3 mm outside-diameter tubes crossing at any angle, using two halves connected by a central rivet — it is what you use for bracing, where a double (right-angle) coupler would only fit a 90° crossing.
Everything else follows from that rivet: it is the coupler with a moving part, it is tested separately in every standard that covers couplers, and under BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 its type-test failure force is lower than a right-angle coupler’s of the same class while its slipping requirement is the same. That comparison is between those two types within one class of one edition, not a rule for every coupler standard or every edition. That distinction is the most misquoted thing about this fitting. Where the swivel sits among the other types is in the coupler types guide; the rest of the range is under coupler types.
What a swivel coupler is, and what it is called
Two coupler bodies, each a flap and a bolt or wedge gripping one tube, riveted back to back so one can rotate relative to the other in a single plane. Tighten both and the tubes are locked at whatever angle the scaffolder set. BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 lists it in Table 1 as one of four coupler types, code SW, the type for tubes that cross at any angle; the right angle coupler (RA) is the type for a 90° crossing.
| Market or standard | Name | Code |
|---|---|---|
| UK trade, EN and AS/NZS standards | Swivel coupler | SW (EN 74-1) |
| US speech and supplier catalogues | Swivel clamp | — |
| Also seen | Swivel fitting, swivel clip, adjustable coupler | — |
| China, GB 15831-2006 (withdrawn 1 December 2023, replaced by GB/T 15831-2023) | 旋转扣件 (swivel coupler, the standard’s own English gloss) | U |
It fits the same tube as every other coupler: EN 74:1988 — published in the UK as BS 1139-2.1:1991 and long superseded, first by EN 74-1:2005 and then by the current edition — applied to steel tubes of 48,3 mm outside diameter with a nominal wall thickness of at least 3,2 mm, and BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 keeps 48,3 mm, adding aluminium tube to the scope. Couplers for other tube diameters exist outside that scope and are a different product — if your tubes are not 48,3 mm, confirm the size with the supplier before ordering.
Swivel coupler vs double (right-angle) coupler
This is the comparison buyers ask for, so here it is with the current standard’s own numbers rather than trade rules of thumb.
| Swivel coupler (SW) | Double / right-angle coupler (RA) | |
|---|---|---|
| Angle | Any angle, set on site | Fixed 90° |
| Typical use | Bracing, raking tubes, non-standard geometry | Ledger to standard, transom to ledger — the load-bearing joints |
| Classes in BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 | A and B only | A, AA, B and BB |
| Slipping Fs,c at Δ1 ≤ 7 mm | 7,0 kN (A) / 10,0 kN (B) | 7,0 kN (A, AA) / 10,0 kN (B, BB) |
| Slipping Fs,c at 1–2 mm (Δ2) | 10,0 kN (A) / 15,0 kN (B) | 10,0 kN (A, AA) / 15,0 kN (B, BB) |
| Failure force | 14,0 kN (A) / 20,0 kN (B) | 20,0 kN (A) / 30,0 kN (AA, B) / 45,0 kN (BB) |
| Pull-apart force | No requirement specified | 20,0 kN (A, AA) / 30,0 kN (B, BB) |
| Rotational moment and stiffness | No requirement specified | Class B and BB only (screw couplers) |
| Paired use to raise slip resistance | Not provided for | AA+AA and BB+BB, two identical couplers touching |
All figures are from Table 8 of BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 and are characteristic type-test values. The honest summary is narrow: within a class a swivel has to resist slipping exactly as well as a right-angle coupler; what it does not have to do is survive the same failure force, and the standard asks nothing of it in pull-apart or rotational stiffness. That is why a swivel is not a substitute for a double on a load-bearing right-angle joint — not because it slips sooner.
Where swivel couplers are used
Bracing, in almost every case — and the bracing rules decide how many you buy.
- Façade or longitudinal bracing. US rules require longitudinal bracing on straight-run tube and coupler scaffolds to run diagonally in both directions “at approximately a 45 degree angle” (29 CFR 1926.452(b)(3)). Each diagonal ends in a swivel at both ends.
- Transverse (ledger) bracing. The same regulation requires transverse bracing “forming an ‘X’ across the width of the scaffold … at the scaffold ends and at least at every third set of posts horizontally … and every fourth runner vertically” (1926.452(b)(2)).
- Plan bracing, raking tubes and kickers, and any tube run to a fixing point that is not square to the scaffold.
- Splicing tubes. AS/NZS 1576.2:2016 clause 4.2.2.6 has a splicing test that covers parallel couplers and swivel couplers used to splice tubes, and limits slip at the contact face to 6 mm.
So the swivel count on a braced scaffold is not a small fraction of the double count: two per brace tube, plus the rakers, before you send a quantity to a factory. How the braces sit in the finished scaffold is in tube and clamp scaffolding explained.
What BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 requires of a swivel coupler
BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 — EN 74-1:2022 as amended by A1:2025 — supersedes BS EN 74-1:2022 and recognises two classes of swivel coupler, A and B; in that current edition the AA and BB classes exist for right-angle couplers only.
| Requirement | Class A | Class B |
|---|---|---|
| Slipping force Fs,c at Δ1 ≤ 7 mm | 7,0 kN | 10,0 kN |
| Slipping force Fs,c at 1 mm ≤ Δ2 ≤ 2 mm | 10,0 kN | 15,0 kN |
| Failure force Ff,c | 14,0 kN | 20,0 kN |
| Pull-apart force | not specified | not specified |
| Indentation test load Pind (Δ10 ≤ 1,5 mm) | 4,7 kN | 6,67 kN |
Transcribed from Table 8. The conditions attached matter as much as the numbers:
- They are characteristic values: clause 7.2.1.5 requires the results to be analysed statistically to the 5 % quantile, which must not fall below the specified value. They bind a prototype in a type test; clause 6.2.1 sends the reader to EN 12811-1 and EN 12812 for the characteristic values and safety coefficients to be applied in use.
- Δ2 is defined by the A1:2025 amendment as the lowest force measured between 1 mm and 2 mm of displacement — the one substantive change A1 made.
- Slipping is tested on reference tube RTS1 (48,3 mm OD, 3,2 mm wall, ReH ≥ 235 N/mm²), 10 tests, plus 5 on aluminium reference tube.
- Screw couplers are tightened to 50 Nm with a torque wrench for the test (clause 7.1.7), wedge couplers with a hammer of at least 500 g; the same 50 Nm must appear in the product manual (clause 13).
- Clause 12 requires the assessment to be carried out by a person or organisation other than the one that designed the coupler — a third-party-assessed type test, not a CE mark, not a per-batch certificate.
The earlier edition, for context only
EN 74:1988, published in the UK as BS 1139-2.1:1991 and now superseded, treated the swivel coupler as a single product with no class split: Table 1 required a lower limit of load-bearing capacity of 6.0 kN, a slipping load of 8.5 kN and an ultimate load of 17.0 kN. Those three figures are prototype type-test limits from that superseded edition — that standard states its requirements are for the assessment of prototypes — and they are not safe working loads. They are here because catalogues and training notes still reproduce them, not because they belong on a new order — and if a supplier quotes “Class A swivel” against 1988 figures, the two do not go together.
Some fittings still in circulation are marked to the 2005 edition, which we have not read — the 2005 edition (unread here) sat between the 1988 table above and the current one, and no figure on this site is attributed to it. Where a product page says “BS EN 74-1:2005”, treat the class letter as a description of the marking, not as evidence of any requirement, and ask for the type-test report behind it.
Marking: what should be on the fitting
Clause 9 of BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 requires every coupler to be marked by impressing or embossing on the flap or the body, legible after coating, with characters at least 4,0 mm high and 0,2 mm deep, in this order: the reference EN 74-1, the maker’s registered trademark, the last two digits of the year of manufacture, the coupler class, and the type of ongoing production inspection if provided. The standard’s example is EN 74-1 XX 21 BB M; NASC TG17:10 records the same scheme from the UK side as EN74-1 xx 05 A L, and AS/NZS 1576.2:2016 clause 1.5 independently requires the same 4 mm / 0.2 mm marking plus a batch-traceable code.
The designation format (clause 8) is EN 74-1 <type> <class> <corrosion class> <inspection level>, so a Class B swivel with electrolytic zinc and supervised production control is EN 74-1 SW B C2 M. That string, not “EN 74 swivel”, is what belongs on a specification.
Forged or pressed
Both constructions are sold and both appear in UK catalogues against EN 74-1: Altrad Generation lists a drop-forged swivel coupler (code 26002) at 1 kg and a pressed-steel swivel coupler (code 26125) at 1.04 kg (accessed 16 September 2026). Its catalogue marks both to the 2005 edition; we have not read that edition and take no figure from it. BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 takes no position on the process — its clause 6.1 requires only that every element of a coupler be made of steel or cast iron, with cast irons reaching a minimum elongation of 5 %. US rules constrain the material rather than the process: couplers “shall be of a structural metal, such as drop-forged steel, malleable iron, or structural grade aluminum”, and “the use of gray cast iron is prohibited” (29 CFR 1926.452(b)(9)).
BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 specifies the bolt in its clause 6.2.3: at least M12, strength class at least grade 5.6, proof load not less than 32,2 kN, M14 × 2 recommended, washer or nut flange at least 2,5 mm thick. In the same edition, an electrolytic zinc coating of 15 µm average thickness is what conforms to corrosion class C2.
Weight, for freight planning
| Swivel coupler | Weight per piece | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Drop forged, 48.3 mm | 1.0–1.22 kg, typically ≈1.05 kg | Three independent vendors: Altrad Generation 1.0, WCT 1.05, Dura 1.05–1.22 |
| Pressed steel, 48.3 mm | 1.04 kg | Altrad Generation only — one vendor, not a market typical |
Vendor catalogue weights for 48.3 mm couplers, accessed 16 September 2026. There is no general rule that a swivel outweighs a double of the same construction: Altrad Generation’s catalogue lists both its drop-forged double coupler (code 26001) and its drop-forged swivel coupler (code 26002) at 1 kg. When a container is weight-limited rather than volume-limited, estimate freight from the catalogue weight of the specific SKU you are quoting.
Common misunderstandings
“Swivel couplers are weaker than doubles.” Too vague, and wrong in the part most people mean. Under BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 the swivel’s slipping requirements are identical to a right-angle coupler’s of the same class (7,0 / 10,0 kN for Class A, 10,0 / 15,0 kN for Class B). What is lower is the failure force: 14,0 kN against 20,0 kN for Class A, 20,0 kN against 30,0 kN for Class B. The standard also specifies no pull-apart force and no rotational moment or stiffness for swivels, and gives them no AA/BB pairing option. Use a swivel where the angle requires it, not where a right-angle joint carries the lift.
“A swivel coupler has a load capacity in kilonewtons.” One vendor blog — TP Scaffold, accessed 16 September 2026 — publishes a pair of kilonewton figures under the heading of a swivel coupler’s load capacity; the figures it prints are the current standard’s type-test failure forces, and this page does not repeat them as a capacity. What the standard actually requires is stated as a requirement: BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 Table 8 requires a Class A swivel coupler prototype to reach a failure force of 14,0 kN and a Class B one 20,0 kN — the force a prototype must reach in a type test, which is neither a capacity nor a number to design to. Separately, one UK distributor’s product page lists “Slip Resistance: 10 kN” and “Failure Load: 14 kN” for its Class A swivel (WCT Scaffold, accessed 16 September 2026). Those are the distributor’s own labels, and they are slip-resistance and failure-load labels rather than a capacity claim; the two values match the current Table 8 Class A Δ2 slipping force and failure force, which makes them traceable but does not make either of them a safe working load.
“6.1 kN is the swivel’s working load” — practitioners report that figure in a Scaffolders Forum thread (accessed 16 September 2026), and it is trade convention, not a standard value and not a published rating. UK scaffolders in that thread quote it for swivels alongside the same figure for Class A doubles; no standard in our source ledger contains it, and no distributor we have checked publishes a working load for a swivel at all.
“All the swivels in the yard are the same.” Practitioners posting in a Scaffolders Forum thread report that stock is rarely segregated by class on site — an individual practitioner observation in that thread, accessed 16 September 2026, not a verified industry statistic — so a yard can hold mixed A and B fittings that look identical. If the class letter is not legible, the coupler’s class is unknown.
Regional standards
Australia and New Zealand. AS/NZS 1576.2:2016 carries requirements written specifically for the swivel coupler. A swivel tested to its Appendix A may slip no more than 6 mm at its contact face, and in the Appendix B rotation test — 15 kN over 45 s for a swivel, against 30 kN over 90 s for a right-angle coupler — it must not show a vertical-plane rotation greater than 175 mm on the pointer (125 mm for a right-angle coupler). At least six couplers are tested per appendix. On tightening it is more explicit than BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025: its clause 3.2.3(a) sets 54 Nm as a torque sufficient for a screw-tightened coupler to satisfy the performance requirements of Section 4, its clause 3.2.3(b) allows a higher torque to be specified where a greater slip resistance is wanted, provided the maximum stress in the screwed component stays within 70 % of the material’s minimum yield stress, and its clause 3.2.4 requires every coupler to withstand tightening to at least 80 Nm around the tube without any part showing permanent distortion. Neither figure is a site torque for a coupler type-tested to BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025, which tightens screw couplers to 50 Nm for its own tests. Clause 1.6 also carries a conformity route to the European standard; it is written against an edition we have not read, so we quote nothing from that edition and make no claim about what it required — if a supplier leans on that route, ask which edition its type-test report is actually written to.
United States. OSHA has no product standard equivalent to EN 74-1; it regulates the scaffold. What touches swivels is the material rule quoted above and the bracing clauses of 29 CFR 1926.452(b), under the general rule that every scaffold and component must support its own weight and at least 4 times the maximum intended load (1926.451(a)(1)). The full US picture is in the coupler types guide.
China. GB 15831-2006, the standard Cangzhou-cluster factories grew up on, covered the 旋转扣件 (code U) explicitly: its 表1 required the swivel to survive 17.0 kN in the 抗破坏 (failure) test and set its 抗滑 (slip) loads at 7.0 kN with Δ₁ ≤ 7.00 mm and 10.0 kN with Δ₂ ≤ 0.50 mm — the same slip row it gave the right-angle coupler, a real divergence from EN 74:1988. Every one of those figures was obtained at 40 N·m bolt torque on a 48.3 × 3.5 mm red-lead-painted tube, so they are not interchangeable with the figures in BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025, whose slipping tests are run at 50 Nm on reference tube RTS1 (48,3 × 3,2 mm, ReH ≥ 235 N/mm²) while its failure and pull-apart tests are run on a solid steel reference bar instead — so the EN slipping condition, not “all EN testing”, is what the 3,2 mm tube describes. The standard also fixes the centre rivet at 14 ± 0.5 mm and the gap between the rotating faces at under 1 mm, and carries no class letters at all. It was withdrawn on 1 December 2023 and replaced by GB/T 15831-2023, which we have not read, so no requirement on this page is attributed to the 2023 edition. Two changes are worth knowing from the catalogue record alone: the designation moved from GB (a mandatory standard) to GB/T (a recommended one), and the catalogue entry describes a scope widened from 48.3 mm malleable-iron and cast-steel couplers to metal couplers for a nominal outside diameter range of 34 mm to 76 mm. That scope description comes from the catalogue listing, not from the text of the 2023 standard, which we have not read; whether it changed any 48.3 mm requirement value is unknown here. Quote the 2006 edition as history and ask a Chinese supplier which edition its current test sheets are written to.
What to put on the purchase order
- Type and quantity. “Swivel coupler (swivel clamp), EN 74-1 type SW” and the piece count — counted per brace end, not estimated.
- Tube size. 48.3 mm outside diameter, plus the wall thickness the couplers will actually see. Do not copy 3,2 mm across as a “minimum wall thickness” for the tube you buy: in the current edition it is the wall of reference test tube RTS1 (48,3 × 3,2 mm, ReH ≥ 235 N/mm²) that slipping tests are run on, and it was the superseded EN 74:1988 that wrote 3,2 mm into its own scope wording. As an example of what is actually on sale, Scaffolding Direct lists a galvanised Type 4 tube to BS EN 39:2001 at 48.3 mm outside diameter and 4 mm wall (accessed 16 September 2026).
- Standard edition and class, stated together. “BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025, swivel, Class B” — or the full designation,
EN 74-1 SW B C2 M. “EN 74” or “BS 1139” alone identifies nothing. - Construction. Drop forged or pressed steel, stated explicitly; both are legitimate and they are different products.
- Finish. Electro-galvanised (electrolytic zinc of an average thickness of 15 µm, which is what BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 equates to corrosion class C2 — an average, not a minimum at every point), hot-dip galvanised or painted, with the coating thickness if it matters, and a note that the marking must stay legible after coating.
- Bolt. M12 minimum, M14 × 2 recommended, strength class at least 5.6, proof load at least 32,2 kN. Ask what the factory actually fits.
- Marking. EN 74-1 mark on every piece, characters at least 4,0 mm high and 0,2 mm deep, with the class letter present. The standard’s marking sequence carries the ongoing-production-inspection letter if provided, so if you want that letter on every piece, write it into the order as your own requirement rather than assuming the standard demands it unconditionally.
- Test evidence. A type-test report to the edition you named, from a named laboratory and a third-party assessor, for the swivel coupler — not for the factory’s double coupler. Ask for the production-control letter (L or M) too: the informative Annex B of the current edition recommends, rather than mandates, a production-control frequency — internal slipping and failure tests on right-angle and swivel couplers at one per 50 000 couplers, minimum one per week, and five per third-party inspection at level M. Check the torque the test was run at: 50 Nm under BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025, not the 40 N·m test torque of the withdrawn GB 15831-2006.
For bracing hardware, send your swivel-coupler specification and piece count; use the purchase-order checklist if the enquiry also includes other fitting types.
Sources
- BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 Couplers, spigot pins and baseplates for use in falsework and scaffolds — Part 1: Couplers for tubes (current edition; Table 8, clauses 4.2.1, 6.1, 6.2.3, 7.1.7, 7.2.1.5, 8, 9, 13, Annex B). BSI product page — accessed 2026-09-17
- BS 1139-2.1:1991 (EN 74:1988) Metal scaffolding — Part 2: Couplers. Superseded; cited for its Table 1 swivel coupler type-test limits. Current edition sold by BSI — accessed 2026-09-16
- AS/NZS 1576.2:2016 Scaffolding — Couplers and accessories (clauses 1.5, 1.6, 3.2.3, 3.2.4, 4.2.2.3, 4.2.2.6, Appendix B). Standards New Zealand product page — accessed 2026-09-16
- 29 CFR 1926.452(b) Tube and coupler scaffolds — bracing and coupler material clauses (Cornell LII mirror; osha.gov is the authoritative host) — accessed 2026-09-16
- 29 CFR 1926.451(a)(1) Scaffolds — general requirements, capacity: own weight plus at least 4 times the maximum intended load (eCFR) — accessed 2026-09-16
- GB 15831-2006 《钢管脚手架扣件》 Steel tube scaffold couplers — withdrawn 2023-12-01, replaced by GB/T 15831-2023. Official catalogue record, 全国标准信息公共服务平台 — accessed 2026-09-16
- NASC TG17:10 Identification of BS EN74 Scaffold Fittings (January 2010) — NASC official website — accessed 2026-09-16
- NASC TG17:10 — copy seen at a supplier mirror (Wellmade, China). A vendor mirror, not an authoritative host; cited only to show the copy consulted — accessed 2026-09-16
- Altrad Generation — Drop forged swivel coupler (code 26002, 1 kg, tightening torque approx. 50 Nm) — accessed 2026-09-16
- Altrad Generation — Scaffold fittings catalogue (drop forged swivel 26002, pressed steel swivel 26125) — accessed 2026-09-16
- WCT Scaffold — New drop forged swivel coupler (EN 74-1 Class A, 1.05 kg) — accessed 2026-09-16
- Dura Scaffold — EN74 British forged scaffolding couplers (swivel weights by SKU) — accessed 2026-09-16
- TP Scaffold blog — 'What Is The Load Capacity of A Standard Scaffolding Coupler?' (cited as an example of a mislabelled figure, not as a source of values) — accessed 2026-09-16
- Scaffolders Forum — 'Class A & B fittings' thread (practitioner observation on class segregation in yards) — accessed 2026-09-16
- Scaffolding Direct — galvanised scaffold tube, BS EN 39:2001 S235GT Type 4, 48.3 mm OD, 4 mm wall (vendor product listing) — accessed 2026-09-16
Related guides
- Guide hub
Scaffolding Coupler Types and Names: UK, US and EN 74 Chart
Every scaffolding coupler type by name — double, swivel, sleeve, joint pin, putlog, beam clamp — with UK and US names, what each joins and EN 74-1 classes.
-
Scaffold Beam Clamp (Girder Coupler): What EN 74-1 Covers and What to Ask
What a scaffold beam clamp or girder coupler is, why BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 has no load table for it, and what to ask a supplier before ordering.
-
Sleeve Coupler vs Joint Pin (Spigot): Which Standard Covers Which
How a sleeve coupler and a joint pin differ, what BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 requires of the sleeve coupler, and which document covers the spigot pin.
-
Double Coupler (Right-Angle Clamp): EN 74-1 Classes A/AA/B/BB and What They Require
What a double / right-angle coupler does, what BS EN 74-1:2022+A1:2025 Table 8 requires of classes A, AA, B and BB, and what to write on the order.